

Protection of Artistic and Scientific Institutions and Historic Monuments

15 April 1935

The High Contracting Parties, animated by the purpose of giving conventional form to the postulates of the Resolution approved on December 16, 1933, by all the States represented at the Seventh International Conference of American States, held at Montevideo, which recommended to "the Governments of America which have not yet done so that they sign the 'Roerich Pact', initiated by the Roerich Museum in the United States, and which has as its object, the universal adoption of a flag, already designed and generally known, in order thereby to preserve in any time of danger all nationally and privately owned immovable monuments which form the cultural treasure of peoples", have resolved to conclude a treaty with that end in view, and to the effect that the treasures of culture be respected and protected in time of war and in peace, have agreed upon the following articles:

ARTICLE I

The historic monuments, museums, scientific, artistic, educational and cultural institutions shall be considered as neutral and as such respected and protected by belligerents.

The same respect and protection shall be due to the personnel of the institutions mentioned above.

The same respect and protection shall be accorded to the historic monuments, museums, scientific, artistic, educational and cultural institutions in time of peace as well as in war.

ARTICLE II

The neutrality of, and protection and respect due to, the monuments and institutions mentioned in the preceding article, shall be recognized in the entire expanse of territories subject to the sovereignty of each of the signatory and acceding States, Without any discrimination as to the State allegiance of said monuments and institutions. The respective Governments agree to adopt the measures of internal legislation necessary to insure said protection and respect.

ARTICLE III

In order to identify the monuments and institutions mentioned in article I, use may be made of a distinctive flag (red circle with a triple red sphere in the circle on a white

background) in accordance with the model attached to this treaty.

ARTICLE IV

The signatory Governments and those which accede to this treaty, shall send to the Pan American Union, at the time of signature or accession, or at any time thereafter, a list of the monuments and institutions for which they desire the protection agreed to in this treaty.

The Pan American Union, when notifying the Governments of signatures or accessions, shall also send the list of monuments and institutions mentioned in this article, and shall inform the other Governments of any changes in said list.

ARTICLE V

The monuments and institutions mentioned in article I shall cease to enjoy the privileges recognized in the present treaty in case they are made use of for military purposes.

ARTICLE VI

The States which do not sign the present treaty on the date it is opened for signature, may sign or adhere to it at any time.

ARTICLE VII

The instruments of accession, as well as those of ratification and denunciation of the present treaty, shall be deposited with the Pan American Union, which shall communicate notice of the act of deposit to the other signatory or acceding States.

ARTICLE VIII

The present treaty may be denounced at any time by any of the signatory or acceding States, and the denunciation shall go into effect three months after notice of it has been given to the other signatory or acceding States.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the Undersigned Plenipotentiaries, after having deposited their full powers found to be in due and proper form, sign this treaty on behalf of their respective governments, and affix thereto their seals, on the dates appearing opposite their signatures.

For the Argentine Republic: April 15, 1935 FELIPE A. ESPIL

For Bolivia: ENRIQUE FINOT	April	15,	1935
For Brazil: OSWALDO ARANHA	April	15,	1935
For Chile: M. TRUCCO	April	15,	1935
For Colombia: M. LOPEZ PUMAREJO	April	15,	1935
For Costa Rica: MAN. GONZALEZ Z	April	15,	1935
For Cuba: GUILLERMO PATTERSON	April	15,	1935
For the Dominican Republic: RAF. BRACHE	April	15,	1935
For Ecuador: C. E. ALFARO	April	15,	1935
For El Salvador: HECTOR DAVID CASTRO	April	15,	1935
For Guatemala: ADRIAN RECINOS	April	15,	1935

For Haiti: April 15, 1935 A. BLANCHET For Honduras: April 15, 1935 M. PAZ BARAONA For Mexico: April 15, 1935 F. CASTILLO NAJERA For Nicaragua: April 15, 1935 HENRI DE BAYLE For Panama: April 15, 1935 R. J. ALFARO April 15, 1935 For Paraguay: ENRIQUE BORDENAVE For Peru: April 15, 1935 M. DE FREYRE Y S. For the United States of America: April 15, 1935 HENRY A. WALLACE April 15, 1935 For Uruguay:

For Venezuela: April 15, 1935
PEDRO M. ARCAYA

J. RICHLING